Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bobby Dibler Named 2019 Naismith College Official of the Year

Bobby Dibler Named 2019 Naismith College Official of the Year

ATLANTA – The Atlanta Tipoff Club today announced WAC Coordinator of Officials Bobby Dibler as the 2019 Naismith Men's College Official of the Year award winner for his contributions to the sport of basketball. Dibler will be honored this Saturday, Sept. 21, at a ceremony during the 2019 Men's Basketball Regional Officiating Clinic in Phoenix.

First awarded in 1988, the Naismith Official of the Year award recognizes individuals who display character, integrity and dignity and have contributed mightily to the growth, success and viability of college basketball. To be eligible, an individual must have been involved with the sport as a game official for a minimum of 20 years and worked both the NCAA Tournament and a conference tournament as a game official.

"Bobby richly deserves any and all honors received," WAC Commissioner Jeff Hurd said. "He not only has devoted his entire professional life to collegiate basketball officiating, he has done so in a manner that can be matched by very, very few."

Dibler officiated his first college game for NCAA Division I Men's Basketball in 1973 and continued calling games until 1993. His long and successful career as a college basketball game official included working 14 NCAA Tournaments, three Final Fours and two title games. Dibler has served as a coordinator of basketball officials for 25 years, overseeing the Big Sky, Big West, Mountain West, Pacific-12, Western Athletic and West Coast Conferences.

"I am extremely humbled and honored to receive the Naismith College Official of the Year award," Dibler said. "I have been blessed to be associated with so many individuals to include NCAA personnel, conference and university administrators, coaches and our leadership team. But most of all, to have the privilege of working very closely with our officials both on and off the court, who actively 'put it on the line' every night, is an honor above all honors."

The complete list of Naismith College Official of the Year Award winners is listed below.

Men's Official of the Year

2019 Bobby Dibler
2018 Jim "Boomer" Bain
2017 John Higgins
2016 Dick Cartmell
2015 Mike Sanzere
2014 Randy McCall
2013 Tom Eades
2012 Tom O'Neill
2011 Ed Corbett
2010 Anthony Greene
2009 Mike Kitts
2008 Scott Thornley
2007 John Cahill
2006 Steve Welmer
2005 Ted Valentine
2004 Bob Donato
2003 Mike Wood
2002 Larry Rose
2001 Ted Hillary
2000 Gerald Boudreaux
1999 Andre Pattillo
1998 Frank Scagliotta
1997 Tommy Lopes
1996 Dick Paparo
1995 Leonard Wirtz
1994 Tim Higgins
1993 James Burr
1992 Ed Hightower
1991 Don Rutledge
1990 Mickey Crowley
1989 John Clougherty
1988 Joe Forte