Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Seattle U Picked To Win 2019 WAC Men's Soccer Title

Seattle U Picked To Win 2019 WAC Men's Soccer Title

DENVER – Seattle U is the preseason favorite to win the 2019 Western Athletic Conference men's soccer title and UT Rio Grande Valley's Kyle Edwards and Grand Canyon's George Tasouris were selected as the WAC Preseason Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year respectively in a vote of the league's 12 head coaches, who could not vote for their own team or players.

The Redhawks collected five of 12 first-place votes and 112 total points to take the top spot. UT Rio Grande Valley was selected second with two first-place votes and 104 points. Air Force and Grand Canyon tied for the third spot with the Falcons earning three first-place votes and the Lopes earning one first-place vote and both teams garnering 88 points. UNLV was just one point back with 87 points to take the fifth spot. San José State, a tournament finalist the last two seasons, received the final first-place vote and 77 points to take the sixth spot. Utah Valley was selected seventh with 75 points, followed by California Baptist in eighth, CSU Bakersfield in ninth, Houston Baptist and Kansas City tied for tenth and UIW in 12th.

Edwards is joined on the Preseason All-WAC squad by teammate William Akio while Tasouris was the lone representative for GCU. UNLV and Seattle U each had three honored as Tyler Allen, Marco Gonzalez and Timo Mehlich represented the Rebels and Julian Avilia-Good, Declan McGlynn and Thomas Mickoski were the Redhawks' honorees. Air Force's Nick Blessing and San José State's Max Allen rounded out the 11-member team.

2019 Preseason Men's Soccer Coaches Poll

Rank Team (1st Place Votes) Points
1. Seattle U (5) 112
2. UT Rio Grande Valley (2) 104
T3. Air Force (3) 88
T3. Grand Canyon (1) 88
5. UNLV 87
6. San José State (1) 77
7. Utah Valley 75
8. California Baptist 49
9. CSU Bakersfield 37
T10. Houston Baptist 27
T10. Kansas City 27
12. UIW 20


2019 Preseason All-WAC Team
William Akio, Sr., F, UT Rio Grande Valley
Kyle Edwards, Sr., F, UT Rio Grande Valley
Marco Gonzalez, Jr., F, UNLV
Declan McGlynn, So., F, Seattle U
Max Allen, Jr., MF, San José State
Julian Avila-Good, Sr., MF, Seattle U
Timo Mehlich, Sr., MF, UNLV
Tyler Allen, Sr., D, UNLV
Nick Blessing, Sr., D, Air Force
Thomas Mickoski, Sr., D, Seattle U
George Tasouris, So., GK, Grand Canyon

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: Kyle Edwards, Sr., F, UT Rio Grande Valley
Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: George Tasouris, So., GK, Grand Canyon