Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Four WAC Men's Teams, 24 Individuals Named ITA All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes

Four WAC Men's Teams, 24 Individuals Named ITA All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes

TEMPE, Ariz. – Four WAC men's tennis teams and 24 student-athletes have been honored by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) as 2018 All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes.

Chicago State, NM State, Seattle U and UT Rio Grande Valley earned the ITA All-Academic Team award, given to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade-point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letterwinners were factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2017 and spring 2018).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status, a player must be a varsity letterwinner, have a GPA of at least 3.50 on a 4.00 scale for the current academic year and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters. The 24 WAC student-athletes that earned ITA Scholar-Athlete status are listed below.

Matt Alderson, Seattle U
Adrian Alvarez Sanabria, Seattle U
Enrique Asmar, NM State
George Botha, Chicago State
Airam Castellano, Kansas City
Luis Flores, NM State
Arshak Ghazaryan, Seattle U
Christian Gonzalez, Chicago State
Koby Jansen, UT Rio Grande Valley
Elliot Johnstone, UT Rio Grande Valley
Jeremiah Kalmus, Seattle U
Yehonatan Kaufman, UT Rio Grande Valley
Zane Kohrs, UT Rio Grande Valley
Tom Kruse, Kansas City
Gonzalo Martinez, Chicago State
Louis Menard, NM State
Emilio Monroy, Seattle U
Trenton Nield, Seattle U
Yusuke Nishitani, NM State
Alejandro Rosa, NM State
Felix Savard, Chicago State
Michael Schoettler, Seattle U
Rohan Wattley, Chicago State
Cody Wurzelbacher, Chicago State

In all, 735 teams and 4,328 student-athletes across all five divisions of college tennis were honored. To view the complete list of men's Division I honorees, click here.