Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

ITA All-Academic Lists Include Three WAC Men’s Tennis Teams, 19 Individuals

ITA All-Academic Lists Include Three WAC Men’s Tennis Teams, 19 Individuals
TEMPE, ARIZ. – Three WAC men's tennis teams and 19 student-athletes have been named 2018 All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).
Chicago State, NM State and the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley each received the ITA All-Academic Team award, given to any ITA program that has a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners were factored into the cumulative team GPA for the past academic year (including fall 2018 and spring 2019).
In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year and have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).
The 19 WAC student-athletes that achieved this status are listed below.
Enrique Asmar, NM State
George Botha, Chicago State
Francesco Bonacia, Chicago State
Nicolas Buitrago, NM State
Luis Flores, NM State
Sebastian Herrera, NM State
Yehonatan Kaufman, UT Rio Grande Valley
Zane Kohrs, UT Rio Grande Valley
Tom Kruse, Kansas City
Michael Loyd, UT Rio Grande Valley
Gonzalo Martinez, Chicago State
Louis Menard, NM State
Yusuke Nishitani, NM State
Alejandro Rosas Garcia, NM State
Felix Savard, Chicago State
Ben Stride, Kansas City
Jakov Suler, Chicago State