Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Five WAC Schools Earn USTFCCCA Academic Honors

Five WAC Schools Earn USTFCCCA Academic Honors

NEW ORLEANS - The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the 2018 All-Academic Awards for indoor and outdoor track and field and five WAC schools received honors.

Grand Canyon was the most recognized program with both the men and women's programs earning team honors and nine individuals recognized for strong performances in the classroom and on the track. Guillermo Alcala-Rendon, Marcus Flannigan, Josh Hamberlin, Scott Marshall, Jesse Newman and William Winfield IV represented the Lopes men while Tarasue Barnett, Kayla Finnegan, and Alyson Schwartz represented the Lopes women. 

NM State's Hannah Smith also received individual honors while the Aggies women were also recognized for academic success. Utah Valley's Alena GillespieAdrian Jones and Albert MacArthur were individually recognized, as were both the Wolverines' men's and women's programs.

The CSU Bakersfield women also received recognition as did both the Seattle U men and women.

A total of 363 teams were honored by the USTFCCCA and nearly 1,500 student-athletes across all divisions earned individual honors.

To see all teams and individuals honored, click here.