Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

WAC Women’s Soccer Postseason Honors Announced

WAC Women’s Soccer Postseason Honors Announced
DENVER – The Western Athletic Conference announced its All-WAC women's soccer teams and major awards as selected by the league's nine head coaches. Seattle U received three of the four major awards as Jessie Ray was named WAC Offensive Player of the Year, her teammate Rachel Bowler earned WAC Defensive Player of the Year honors and SU head coach Julie Woodward was named WAC Coach of the Year. Kansas City's Lindsey Prokop was named WAC Freshman of the Year.
Ray, a senior forward from Portland, Ore., paced the WAC regular-season champion Redhawks in goals (8), points (25) and assists (9). She led the conference with five assists and 15 points in league play. The senior also finished the season in a three-way tie for most goals in conference matches with five goals in eight matches. Among all Division I NCAA players, Ray ranks 22nd in total assists and 40th in assists per game. As Ray enters her final WAC Tournament, the Portland native is among the conference's top-three active career leaders in points (70), goals (25), assists (20) and shots (159).
Bowler, a senior defender from Honolulu, Hawaii, anchored the Redhawks' back line and led SU to a league best 6-1-1 record in conference play. Bowler helped lead Seattle U to five shutouts as she was one of only four Redhawks to start all 19 games this season. The senior played every minute of the Redhawks final four game stretch, leading SU to a 3-1 record and the No. 1 overall seed in the WAC Tournament.
Prokop, a forward from Omaha, Neb., started 15 of Kansas City's 19 games this season and led all WAC freshman with seven goals and 17 points. Prokop also contributed three assists on the season with all three coming in conference play. Prokop becomes the second consecutive Freshman of the Year award winner for Kansas City as teammate Rylan Childers earned the distinction last season.
Woodward led Seattle U to a 10-7-2 overall record and its fifth WAC regular-season title since 2013. In her 23 seasons at the helm, Woodward has guided the Redhawks to 304 total wins and an impressive .821 winning percentage in conference play during the team's eight seasons in the WAC. Woodward will look to lead SU to its fifth NCAA Tournament since 2013 as the Redhawks host the 2019 WAC Tournament.
Offensive Player of the Year: Jessie Ray, Sr., F, Seattle U
Defensive Player of the Year: Rachel Bowler, Sr., D, Seattle U
Freshman of the Year: Lindsey Prokop, F, Kansas City
Coach of the Year: Julie Woodward, Seattle U
2019 First Team All-WAC
Rola Badawiya, Jr., F, California Baptist
Leahi Manthei, Jr., F, Seattle U
Jessie Ray, Sr., F, Seattle U
Amber Tripp, R-Jr., F, Utah Valley
Rylan Childers, So., MF Kansas City
Breanna DeWaal, Jr., MF, Utah Valley
Karley Weeks, So., MF, California Baptist
Rachel Bowler, Sr., D, Seattle U
Hannah Bruce, Sr., D, Utah Valley
Abby Small, Sr., D, Kansas City
Lauren Garthwaite, Fr., GK, Grand Canyon
2019 Second Team All-WAC
Sarah Bonney, Sr., F, UT Rio Grande Valley
Aryana Harvey, R-Sr., F, CSU Bakersfield
Emily Zapata, So., F, UT Rio Grande Valley
Kelsey Crosby, Fr., MF, Seattle U
Corey Kizer, So., MF, NM State
Holly Rothering, Sr., MF Seattle U
Gina Steiner, Jr., MF UT Rio Grande Valley
Maddi Cipolla, Jr., D Kansas City
Jenna Shepherd, R-Fr., D, Utah Valley
Kelsey Vogel, Sr., D, Seattle U
Kinga Szemik, Sr., GK, UT Rio Grande Valley
2019 All-WAC Freshman Team
Michele Adam, D, Seattle U
Dani Babb, F, Grand Canyon
Jasmine Bowman, D, CSU Bakersfield
Jocelyn Bybee, F, Utah Valley
Kelsey Crosby, MF, Seatlle U
Chelsee Duran, MF, CSU Bakersfield
Lauren Garthwaite, GK, Grand Canyon
Tiana Hill, MF, California Baptist
Lindsey Prokop, F, Kansas City
Jenna Shepherd, D, Utah Valley
Heather Stainbrook, MF, Utah Valley
- WAC -